Beckermann to Receive Heat Transfer Memorial Award

Christoph Beckermann, University of Iowa Foundation Distinguished Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering and director of the UI Solidification Laboratory, has been selected to receive the 2017 Heat Transfer Memorial Award in the science category from ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers).

ASME is recognizing Beckermann "for pioneering theoretical and experimental research on heat and mass transfer in materials processing with applications in solidification and casting of metals; for mathematical models that are now standard textbook material and in casting simulation software used worldwide; and for research on dendritic growth and the phase-field method that has led to significant advances in the understanding of solidification microstructure formation."

Beckermann will receive the award November 3-9 at the 2017 ASME Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition in Tampa, FL.